Sylvester’s self-titled album was released in 1977. Prior to embarking on a solo career, Sylvester had released two albums on Blue Thumb Records credited to Sylvester and the Hot Band. The self-titled LP was his first disco album in a series of three recorded and distributed by Fantasy Records in the late 1970s. The album was issued with the alternative title Over and Over in France.

Two singles were issued from the album, the first of which, “Down, Down, Down” charted at No.18 on the Billboard Dance chart.


Release Date:
September 1, 1977
Buy / Stream
Buy / Stream

  1. Over and Over
  2. I Tried to Forget You
  3. Changes
  4. Tipsong
  5. Down, Down, Down
  6. Loving Grows Up Slow
  7. I Been Down
  8. Never Too Late
  • Arranged By [Rhythm Arrangements] – Tip-N-Syl
  • Arranged By [Strings And Horns] – Leslie Drayton
  • Artwork By [Art Direction] – Phil Carroll
  • Artwork By [Design] – Jamie Putnam
  • Backing Vocals – Izora Rhodes*Martha Wash
  • Bass – John Dunstan
  • Co-producer, Lead Vocals – Sylvester
  • Drums – Sandyjack Reiner*
  • Engineer [Recording And Remix] – Eddie Bill Harris (tracks: A4, B1, B3, B4)
  • Engineer [Recording, Basics] – Phil Kaffel (tracks: A1 to A3, B2)
  • Guitar – Tip Wirrick*
  • Keyboards – Dan Reich
  • Mastered By [Mastering] – David Turner (2)
  • Other [Production Coordinator] – Nancy Pitts
  • Other [Spiritual Advisor] – Willie Sanchez
  • Percussion – David Frazier
  • Photography [Cover] – Phil Bray
  • Photography [Liner Photos] – Phil BrayScott Lyons
  • Producer – Harvey Fuqua