Stars is the fifth studio album by Sylvester and was released in 1979 on Fantasy Records. Stars peaked at No.27 on the R&B Albums chart and reached No. 63 on the Billboard 200. It features a disco-styled cover version of Ben E. King’s “I (Who Have Nothing),” which peaked at No.27 on the Hot Soul Singles chart and No.40 on the Billboard Hot 100. It also reached No.4 on the Hot Dance Club Play chart, along with the title track, as well as “Body Strong.”


Release Date:
Buy / Stream
Buy / Stream
  1. Stars
  2. Body Strong
  3. I (Who Have Nothing
  4. I Need Somebody to Love Tonight
  • Arranged By [Horn Arrangements] – Mike Bailey (2)
  • Arranged By [String Arrangements] – Chris Rae
  • Art Direction – Phil Carroll
  • Design – Dennis Gassner
  • Engineer [Assistant (Berkeley)] – Danny KopelsonNyya Lark
  • Engineer [Assistant (London)] – Paul Smykle*
  • Engineer [Recording (Berkeley)] – Eddie Bill Harris
  • Engineer [Recording (London)] – Terry Barham
  • Lacquer Cut By – JGS*
  • Mastered By [Mastering] – Jim Sintetos
  • Mixed By [Remix] – Eddie Bill HarrisPhil KaffelSteve Mantoani
  • Photography By [Cover Photograph] – Peter Brill
  • Photography By [Sleeve Photograph] – Phil Bray
  • Producer – Harvey FuquaSylvester
  • Producer [Associate] – Nancy C. Pitts
  • Vocals [All Other Vocals] – Sylvester