Mutual Attraction was Sylvester’s final studio album before his untimely passing. It features a particularly campy cover, designed to the hilt in a pastiche of ’30s style, reminiscent of the visual direction of Grace Jones albums. The music has a more aggressive sound than audiences would come to expect from the Disco mastermind, reflecting the sonic trends of 1986. The album has a quintessentially ’80s feeling, with synths bouncing off Sylvester’s passionate vocals on high-octane scorchers like “Talk to Me” and the witty under-tempo cut “Mutual Attraction,” while “Living for the City” finds him taking Stevie Wonder’s brilliant tune and making it his own.

Mutual Attraction

Release Date:
Buy / Stream
Buy / Stream
  1. Someone Like You
  2. Living For The City
  3. Summertime
  4. Mutual Attraction
  5. Talk To Me
  6. Cool Of The Evening
  7. Sooner Or Later
  8. Anything Can Happen
  • Backing Vocals – Jeanie Tracy (tracks: A1, A2, B1 to B3)
  •  Jerry Kirby (tracks: A1, B2, B4)
  • Lynette Hawkins Stephens (tracks: A2, B1, B3)
  • Producer – Ken Kessie (tracks: A1 to A3, B1, B2)
  • Morey Goldstein (tracks: A1 to A3, B1, B2)