Featuring a beautifully futuristic, androgynous cover drawing by David Duran, Rock the Box (originally titled M-1015) consisted of musical gems that are often overlooked in the grand tapestry of Sylvester’s influential body of work: the title track, and “Sex” to name a few, driven by infectious retro-futuristic synths and pounding electronic beats. Another notable cut from the album is Sylvester’s cover of the disco classic “Lovin’ Is Really My Game,” originally done by the group Brainstorm from their 1977 Stormin’ album, which was a clear indication that Sylvester had no intention of abandoning his disco roots, even as he felt like culture was moving on from the sound that made him a household name.

Rock The Box

Release Date:
Buy / Stream
Buy / Stream
  1. Rock The Box
  2. Lovin’ Is Really My Game
  3. Sex
  4. Shadow of a Heart
  5. Taking Love Into My Own Hands
  6. Take Me To Heaven
  7. How Do You Like Your Love?
  8. I Don’t Wanna Think About It
  • Artwork By [Computer Graphics And Cover Design] – Tony Chiumento
  • Artwork By [Original Illustration] – David Duran
  • Coordinator [Album Coordinator] – Michael Bailey
  • Engineer [Assistant] – Michael RosenRay Pyle
  • Engineer [Mixing] – Ken Kessie
  • Engineer [Recording] – Ken KessieMaureen Droney
  • Lead Vocals [All Lead Vocals] – Sylvester