Sylvester’s second album on Megatone Records found him zigzagging between the classic sonic characteristics of ’80s dance music and his gospel roots, bringing together showcases of classic disco grooves on tracks like “Trouble In Paradise,” “Too Late,” and “Power of Love,” with soulful ballads like “He’ll Understand” and “One Night Only.”

The biggest single off the album was “Band of Gold,” which peaked at No.18 on the US Dance charts.

Call Me

Release Date:
Buy / Stream
Buy / Stream
  1. Trouble in Paradise
  2. Call Me
  3. Good Feelin’
  4. He’ll Understand
  5. One Night Only
  6. Too Late
  7. Power of Love
  8. Band of Gold
  • Backing Vocals – Daryl ColeyDennis Sanders*Jeannie Tracy*Lynette HawkinsMartha WashThe Fabulashes
  • Co-producer – Marty Blecman
  • Co-producer, Lead Vocals, Arranged By – Sylvester
  • Design – Tony Padilla
  • Engineer – Howard JohnstonJohn StronachMaureen Droney
  • Instruments, Arranged By, Programmed By [Yamaha Programs] – James Wirrick
  • Lithography – David Willers
  • Management – Borzoi Music ArtistsTim McKenna
  • Mastered By – José Rodriguez
  • Painting – Mark America
  • Percussion – Bongo Bob*
  • Photography By – David Willers
  • Producer – Dennis Wadlington (tracks: A3), Dwayne Sweet (tracks: A3), James “Tip” Wirrick* (tracks: A1-A4; B1-B3), Marty Blecman (tracks: A3), Sylvester (tracks: A3; B4)
  • Recorded By – Steve Fontano
  • Vocals – Al Simpson (2)Casey Jones (2)